The Revolucionary Cyborg Wedding Band Mobile Unit (or, A Lesson in Extravagant Beauty in D#)

18 01 2011

In the Fall of 2010, I was fortunate enough to attend Farm Fest.  The rain and cold were unrelenting, but all of us who were lucky enough to be in attendance at the outdoor show that night had smiles plastered on our damp faces thanks to the wealth of local talent that took the stage.  We got to see The Pine Family, David P. Smith, Himalayan Bear, High Arctic, The Listening Party, Hearse, Carolyn Mark, Slam Dunk, and many others whose names now escape me, for a pittance (I think it was $10, or so).  It was on this night that I had the opportunity to see the Revolucionary Cyborg Wedding Band Mobile Unit for the first time.

The Revolucion may not be televised...but it will be filled with capes.

I must admit that my initial response to the Cyborgs came in the form of laughter.  I laughed at their name which, at first at least, I saw as absurd and misspelled.  I laughed gregariously as they set up their turntables (as I was, by then, more accustomed to seeing guitars, drums and amps on the Farm Fest stage) and costumes.  Finally, I laughed at the band’s unique, post modern varietal of hip hop: I was not used to hearing rappers reference the World Trade Organization, much less the town of Duncan.  I had never seen or heard anything remotely resembling the Revolucionary Cyborg Wedding Band Mobile Unit; I doubt I ever will.

Upon subsequent reflection, I have come to the conclusion that the default response to beauty, in its most distilled form, is often coupled with laughter.  Sarah laughed in God’s face when her wish was finally granted (Genesis 18:13): I still laugh when I spot a trembling peacock in one of Beacon Hill Park’s many splendid (and equally ridiculous) trees.  The Revolucionary Cyborg Wedding Band Mobile Unit is every bit extravagant as the peacock.  I will stop short of comparing the duo to Yahweh.

Since Farm Fest, I have had the opportunity to see the Cyborgs in a live setting on more than one occasion; their shows are consistently amazing, my only disappointment being the noticeable absence of a merchandise table from which to buy a CD.  I have found some solace in the fact that the Cyborgs have generously shared their music on Facebook.  By visiting their page, one can stream songs such as “Cyborg Farming” and “WTO Threw A Party” free of charge.  While danceable and thought-provoking, the recordings fail to live up to the immediacy and the spontaneity of the live performances.

Fortunately, the Cyborgs are well aware of their live shows’ raw power.  They hope to capture this power as they begin to record their first album in six years at Camus Books on Saturday, January 29th (with additional shows on February 25th and March 25th) .  The price of admission to what promises to be an amazing set is only half the cost of cover at Farm Fest (Five capitalist dollars) and if you cheer (or giggle) loud enough, you just might end up on the new Cyborg CD.  Be sure to get there early: there is only room for 60!


Actions

Information

One response

19 01 2011

Leave a Reply

