From Here: Melissa Broughton

1 04 2010

Melissa Broughton works at Value Village, on Store Street.

How long have you lived in Victoria?
I moved down from Shawnigan Lake last September, to go to school.

What’s it like working at Value Village?
It’s pretty good. You get the odd customer who’s a little finicky. My favourite one is “I could get this cheaper at The Bay.” And I think, “Well, go to The Bay.” My coworkers are really good, though.

Do you get employee discounts?
We get 50% off on most of the stuff, and 30% off on, like, jewelry and furniture.

Do you take advantage of that?
When I have money, yeah. The one problem with only being able to work part-time is that a lot of that money just goes to food. I’m thinking I might get a second job in the summer. My parents pay my rent while I’m going to school, but once I’m out that’s 500 bucks I’m going to have to find somewhere.

What are you studying?
I’m doing the university transfer program, just taking random courses. I don’t really know what I want to do yet.

I have full-time classes at Camosun and I work weekends, but I really enjoy living down here. It’s hard sometimes, on the nights that I have off to go, “Okay, I’m going to do homework” and not “Okay, I’m going to go out somewhere.” I’m hopefully going to get all my stuff done before the term ends—

Oh, I have to go. I think I was just paged at the till.

– Mayana C. Slobodian

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 04 2010
stellaedgar@gmail.com

Interesting..very interesting I am going righy out and buy myself a Monday Magazine Will I find one in Sidney I wonder….O!..its after six guess it will have to wait till tomorrow.

5 04 2010
mondaymagazine

No need to buy, Monday Mag is free! And you can find us in Sidney for sure.

Leave a Reply

